• Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €8 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes booklet with specially commissioned liner notes by Tim Rutherford-Johnson

    Includes unlimited streaming of Stations via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day
    2 remaining

      €10 EUR or more 

    You own this  


  • Full Digital Discography Full Digital Discography

    Get all 43 Diatribe Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 20%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of A Terrible Beauty, Wild is the Wind, Unrealtime, Atomic Legacies, What is the Word, Volume I, A Way A Lone A Last, Morton Feldman - For John Cage, and 35 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      €295.20 EUR or more (20% OFF)

    You own this




Once highly ornamented, Ian Wilson’s music has, over the last decade or so, admitted more light and more air.

The 70-minute Stations for solo piano very much follows this path. It is based on the Catholic devotion of the Stations of the Cross – fourteen scenes from Christ’s condemnation by Pilate to his burial in the tomb. Pictorial or sculptural representations of the Stations themselves appear in most Roman Catholic churches – they may be more or less elaborate, and the largest churches may even have a small chapel for each Station. Wilson’s setting retains the devotional, tableau-like sequence, but prioritises clarity over decoration.

The fourteen movements are arranged into four books, numbers 1–3, 4–7, 8–11 and 12–14, and each book can be performed separately. They were composed between 2006 and 2007 for the British pianist Matthew Schellhorn, a champion of Wilson’s piano music who gave their first performance as a complete set in 2009.

Extract from liner notes by Tim Rutherford-Johnson © 2013


released April 6, 2014

Stations (2006–7) by Ian Wilson

Performed by Matthew Schellhorn

Recording made in the Curtis Auditorium,
CIT Cork School of Music from 1st – 3rd June 2011 Recording facilities kindly made available by the CIT Cork School of Music (Director, Dr Geoffrey Spratt)

Executive producer, Nick Roth for Diatribe

Producers, Ian Wilson and Matthew Schellhorn

Sound engineer and editor, Stephen McCourt
Piano technician, Chris Terroni
Cover photo © Ties Mellema
Graphic design, David Donohoe for Diatribe

With grateful thanks to Dr Geoffrey Spratt,
Chris Terroni and the CIT School of Music, Cork

Stations is published by Ricordi (London) Ltd

Stations was written with the support of an
Arts Council of Ireland Artist Bursary and the
help of the Ralph Vaughan Williams Trust

A short film made during the recording can be
seen here: www.diatribe.ie/artists/ian-wilson



all rights reserved



Diatribe Records Dublin, Ireland

Diatribe is Ireland's leading independent record label for new music

contact / help

Contact Diatribe Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account